• Compare Indiana Car Insurance Quotes

    All states require drivers to get a minimum level of car insurance coverage. Presently Indiana requires drivers to have liability insurance and property liability insurance. The limits for the above-mentioned coverage are 25/50/10.

    What those numbers mean is that you’ll need to have liability coverage up to $25,000 per person to a maximum of $50,000 per accident. In addition, the 10 signifies the $10,000 limit you’ll need to have for property liability.

    Bear in mind that these are just the bare minimums required by state. Many drivers often opt to get more coverage, particularly collision and comprehensive. This protects your car by allowing you to pay up to a predetermined deductible. After that, your insurer will cover you up to the fair market value of your car. Compare free car insurance quotes now!

    Indiana SR-22 Auto Insurance Requirements

    SR22 documents are papers that prove that a driver has complied and gotten the minimum required levels of liability coverage. Generally, only people who have had their driving privileges revoked due to DUI or other offenses need to file this kind of form if they want to reinstate their licenses. Indiana requires an SR22 to reinstate a license, though some states do not require it.

    Indiana DUI Laws

    You are considered to be driving under the influence (DUI) if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% in the state of Indiana. If you are a commercial driver, the BAC is 0.04% and if you are under 21, the BAC is 0.02%.

    First Offense

    • License Suspension (Up to 2 years)
    • Fine ($500 or up to $5000 if BAC is 0.15% and over)
    • Imprisonment (30-60 days or 1 year if BAC is 0.15% and over)
    • Misdemeanor (Class “C)
    • Possible:

    o Ignition Interlock Device
    o Community Service
    o Substance Abuse Program
    o Urine Testing
    o Attendance in a Victim Impact Panel

    Second Offense

    • License Suspension (180 days – 2 years)
    • Fine (Up to $10,000)
    • Imprisonment (5 days – 3 years)
    • Felony (Class “D”)
    • Probation (Up to 2 years)
    • Possible:

    o Ignition Interlock Device
    o Community Service
    o Substance Abuse Program
    o Urine Testing
    o Attendance in a Victim Impact Panel

    Third Offense

    • License Suspension (1-10 years)
    • Fine (Up to $10,000)
    • Imprisonment (10 days – 3 years)
    • Felony (Class “D”)
    • Probation (Up to 2 years)
    • Additional Penalties (If you are deemed a habitual offender)
    • Possible:

    o Ignition Interlock device
    o Community Service
    o Substance Abuse Program
    o Urine Testing
    o Attendance in a Victim Impact Panel

    Implied consent law in Indiana states that if you’re pulled over by a law officer for suspected DUI and you refuse chemical testing, your license can be suspended for 1 year.

    Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements in Indiana (IN)

    Presently there is no ban for cell phone usage or texting, except in the case of new drivers 18 and younger. They cannot text while driving, nor use a cellphone or other handheld device.

    Indiana State Facts
    Indiana State Insurance