Every state has its own requirement regarding the minimum levels of insurance coverage drivers should have. Indiana is no exception. In addition to this, Indiana law also mandates that proof of insurance is necessary at all times when you are operating a motor vehicle.
If you’re in an accident, the police will file a report and it will be passed onto the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). If your insurance company doesn’t give your policy info to the Indiana State Police, you will be asked to provide a certificate of compliance by the BMV to show your financial responsibility. You’ll have 40 days after the certificate is issued to have your insurance agent submit your certificate to the BMV.
Low Cost Auto Insurance Requirements
The minimum levels of coverage in Indiana are 25/50/10. What this means is that you’ll need to have $25,000 of bodily injury coverage for each injured person in an accident up to a maximum of $50,000 per accident. In addition, you need to have $10,000 worth of property damage liability. However, bear in mind that these are the state minimums, and many drivers opt for additional coverage.
Many drivers opt for collision and comprehensive, which protects their own car. Policyholders pay up to a predetermined deductible, and the insurance company takes care of the rest up to the fair market value of the car. Some drivers opt for higher levels of liability insurance. Get what makes sense for you.
UM/UIM Cheapest Car Insurance Coverage in Indiana (IN)
Not all state require UM/UIM coverage; however the state of Indiana does require it. The minimum limit required by state law is $50,000. This will cover you in the event that you’re involved in an accident with someone who doesn’t have enough insurance, or doesn’t have insurance at all!
Affordable Car Insurance Quotes in All States
Indiana is not considered a “no-fault” state. No-fault insurance is basically a form of liability insurance that covers you, the policyholder, no matter who is at fault, hence the name. It is also known as Personal Injury Protection. It is not required in Indiana.
Indiana has several laws regarding DUI. If you’re convicted for this offense, you could see the following penalties:
- Imprisonment (30-60 days)
- Fine ($500)
- License Suspension (2 years)
Possible penalties of:
- Community Service
- Substance Abuse Program
- Urine Testing
- Ignition Interlock Device
- Attendance of a Victim Impact Panel
If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is above 0.15% you could see these additional penalties:
- Imprisonment (Up to 1 year)
- Fine (Up to $5000)
SR-22 documents provide proof that you meet the minimum state requirements for auto insurance. They are generally filed by people who have lost their driving privileges and are looking to reinstate them. Presently, Indiana requires SR22 filings to reinstate a license.
If you need more info, you can call Indiana’s Dept. of Insurance at 800 – 622 – 4461, or visit them online at www.in.gov/idoi.Indiana State Facts
Indiana State Insurance